NY VintersNY Vinters

I love wine. Period. Maybe a little too much.

I have known for a while that I like Malbecs, Sancerres and Syrahs, but I didn’t know why I liked those particular wines. I tried reading a book about the sweet nectar of the gods to get a better sense of what wine is all about and to figure out what drew me to certain varietals and not others. Kevin Zraly’s Complete Wine Course is great, but you really need to experience wine firsthand to discover what you enjoy. You need to look at it, smell it, taste it, and taste it again (not necessarily in that order). I found a great Living Social deal for New York Vinters – a TriBeCa wine shop that specializes in wine education, tastings, and events – aka mecca.

photo(2)

I took a class called “Cellar Seminar: USA vs. France.” It was a ton of fun guessing which Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, and Syrah were made in America and which were made in France (I guessed them all wrong). The pours were generous, the shop served complementary sparkling wine and delicious snacks, and the wines were fantastic. I also learned about body, tannin and finishes in the wine world, among other things. Well I at least learned enough buzz words to sound knowledgeable at dinner parties.

View from the Tuscan Winery

The experience sent me back to 2009, when I took a bike tour and wine tasting with my father in Italy. It was my first tasting and I couldn’t have asked for a better place to do it.

Very, very old wine barrels.

This past fall, I visited a friend in San Francisco. We spent a lovely afternoon at the Robert Mondavi winery in the Napa Valley. Full disclosure, I wasn’t crazy about the wine they served, but the vineyards were absolutely stunning, and the tour was comprehensive.

DSC_0244

Grapes at the Robert Mondavi Winery

DSC_0254

Barrel cellar at the Robert Mondavi winery.

photo(7)

Sommelier at Robert Mondavi

I cannot wait for my next wine tasting – I learn something new every time!

